How to Apply
How Do I File A Claim?
Mail in a completed application form (application.pdf - 29k) or contact us at:
Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission
P.O. Box 231267
Montgomery, Alabama 36123-1267
Phone (334) 290-4420
Fax (334) 290-4455
1-800-541-9388 (toll-free for victims only)
You may also contact your Victims' Service Officer in your local District Attorney's Office.
Who Can Apply?
Any person who is an innocent victim of criminally injurious conduct and who has sustained personal injuries as a result; or the next-of-kin of a victim who died as a result of criminally injurious conduct.
What Other Requirements Must Be Met?
- The claim must be filed within one (1) year of the incident, or good cause shown. Good cause must be submitted in writing.
- The crime must be reported to the proper law enforcement agency within 72 hours of the incident, or good cause shown. Good cause must be submitted in writing.
- The victim or claimant must cooperate fully with law enforcement.
- The victim or claimant must not be the offender or an accomplice of the offender.
- No portion of the compensation shall unjustly benefit the offender.
- The victim must not have contributed to the offense, or have been involved in illegal activity at the time of the offense.
- The victim will not be compensated if he/she has committed a criminal injury to another or he/she shall be convicted of a felony after applying for compensation.
- The victim’s presence in the United States must be lawful. Click here to view a list of documents accepted as proof of legal presence.
What Compensation May Be Paid?
The maximum award is $20,000 (as of October 1, 2014) with limitations on certain expenses. The award may cover the following:
- Medical care
- Psychiatric care
- Work loss due to the crime
- Funeral expenses
- Rehabilitation of the victim
The Commission pays only those expenses which are not covered by another source such as insurance, workman's compensation, etc. The victim or claimant must not receive compensation from two sources.
Please Note: Stolen property, property damage, checks or cash will not be covered by the Commission. The Commission does not provide compensation for pain and suffering.
What Happens After I File?
Your claim will be investigated and processed to determine eligibility for compensation. After the investigation is completed and the information is reported to the Commission, they will render a decision on the eligibilty of your claim.
How Will I Be Advised Of the Decision?
You will be mailed a copy of the decision explaining the status of your claim. You may appeal the decision made by the Commission.